Domestic resilient Ananthapadmanabhan makes his way to an international panel.

The aspiration of KN Ananthapadmanabhan for the last 14 years to represent India internationally finally came true on 10th August 2020, when he got promoted to the international panel of ICC.

The umpires in the international panel are allocated international T20 and ODI matches. Nitin Meon got promoted to the elite international panel this year. Which now makes Ananthapadmanabhan among the four Indians to join the international panel along with C Shamshuddin, Virender Sharma and Anil Chaudhary.

What is the International panel of umpires ?

The ICC international panel of umpires was instated in 1994 by the International Cricket Council; This was done to make certain that an unbiased umpire stood in the test matches. The panel has members from 12 test playing countries each.

Domestic resilient Ananthapadmanabhan makes his way to an international panel

Formerly when the panel was established, it constituted only nine countries. Australia, England, India, South Africa, West Indies, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Zimbabwe were the former countries which are now accompanied by Afghanistan, Ireland and Bangladesh.

In April 2002, the ICC Elite panel of umpires was instated and succeeded in the international panel in the part it played in test matches. The umpires from the international panel are now appointed for the international T20, and ODI matches played in their home countries. They are also looking up to for backing up the elite panel umpires in test matches during tight cricket schedules and assisting the elite panel for the international ODI matches away from home.

Journey Of Ananthapadmanabhan

Ananthapadmanabhan was a former Kerala spinner who joined India’s panel along with C Shamshuddin, Anil Chaudhary, and Virender Sharma. He was a part of ODI and T20 international umpiring in the junior World Cup.

As he was a Cricketer in the past, he has played 105 First class, 54 List A from Kerala’s side. He took 344 wickets as a spinner in First class and 87 wickets in List A. Along with his excellent bowling, he had three First class hundreds and eight half-centuries.

After retiring from First-class cricket in 2002, just two years after his retirement, he joined the BCCI panel. He was assigned as the on-field umpire in the71 Ranji Trophy matches, 37 Vijay Hazare Trophy. He has also umpired 70 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, and 20 IPL matches.

Read more: Anirban Lahiri Joins Arjun Atwal at Wyndham Championship After 5 months


Recent Articles

lost in space season 3 Latest Update: Release Date, Trailer, Cast, Plot & FAQ

Lost in space is one of the most viewed series on Netflix. It is a re-creation of an American science fiction show of the...

Konosuba Season 3: All the Recent Updates

Konosuba Season 3 is finally happening…. is confirmed by the producer that the series will arrive soon. After the announcement of this news, we...

Downton Abbey Season 7: All the Updated Information

After the massive success of 6 seasons, fans are expecting Downton Abbey Season 7. All the followers want the series and the characters to...

“The Punisher: Season 3” Release Date, Cast and Plot

If you are a Marvel series lover then you would have watched many of them released on Netflix. "The Punisher" is also one of...

Jack Ryan Season 3 Release and All The Latest Updates on The Series

Everyone loves a good thriller movie(or a web series). Over the years spy movies, political thrillers, espionage shows have shaped the landscape of cinema...

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Articles

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox